For Significant Contribution to Community Theatre in Maryland and the Greater DC Metropolitan Area.

About David

The David Schroeder Memorial Award has been rededicated by its donor to be awarded annually to those who have significantly contributed to the advancement of Community Theatre in Maryland and the greater Washington, DC Metropolitan area. It is dedicated to the memory those in the Community Theatre family who are no longer with us. In their names we will present this award each year at the Maryland Community Theatre Festival.

Nominations for recipients of this award are taken year-round on this website. Nomination forms may also be downloaded in PDF format and mailed to the address provided on the form.

Dedications may be made at any time using the form provided, and will be added to the list as they are received.

Recipients of the David Schroeder Award prior to 2008 were selected by the MCTFA Board on the basis of inspirational contribution by an actor to a production in the Maryland Community Theatre Festival. (See the webpage About David.) The award is now open to all those in the community theatre family who have made a lasting and significant contribution to community theatre. Nominations are accepted year round on this website, and the presentation of the award at the Maryland Festival is not tied to participation in the Festival.



New Award Recipients:
Linda Bartash 2020 (Special Dedication)
Sandra K Doherty 2019 (Special Dedication)
Carol Youmans 2019 (Special Dedication)
Col. John Moser 2014 (Special Dedication)
Spence Watson 2014 (Special Dedication)
Neil Edgell 2009 (Special Dedication)
Lori Murray Sampson 2009 (Special Dedication)
Cindy Johnson 2008

Original Award Recipients:
Doug Anderson, 2002
Alex Mont, 2001
Craig Pettinati, 2000
Caroline Glover Pleasant, 1999
Norma Ozur, 1998
Ellen G. Hamilton, 1997
Marilyn Osterman, 1996
Marian Myles, 1995
Malinda Smith, 1994

In Loving Memory of:

Rhoda Sakolsky
Lou Swerda
Tom Fenton
Neil Edgell
Lori Murray Sampson
Mona Brussat
Jackie Fischer
Ginny Moser
Jeanne Piccolino
George Chapin
Lil Medas
Bill King
Margaret Grzeszkiewicz
Ian Adams
Dick Smith
Marlie Griffin
Bill Hamlin
Judi Chaimson
Rob Peters
Ron Wilder
Nancy M. Nilsson
Lavern M. B. Hicks
Bettina Curtis
Kaeti Bradley
Spencer "Spence" Watson
Col. John Moser
Tricia McCauley
Carol Waller Youmans
Sandra K. Doherty
Ira Haber
Sheilah Crossley-Cox
Garrett Hyde
Martin Hayes
Linda Bartash

Comments, suggestions, questions:
Copyright March, 2005 by The Theatre Pages, Inc.